CHEROKEE COUNTY EMERGENCY TELEPHONE SERVICE

WHEREAS, K.S.A. 12-5301, et seq., authorizes the governing body to enact by resolution or ordinance provisions for the implementation of an emergency telephone service for reporting police, fire, medical or other emergency situations; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas approved a resolution on the 24th day of May, 2004 to provide for emergency telephone services utilizing the three (3) digit number 911 for reporting police, fire, medical or other emergency situations; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas, originally imposed a tax in an amount not to exceed two percent (2%) of the tariff rate defined in K.S.A. 12-5301 to pay the costs of such emergency telephone services within Cherokee County;

AND WHEREAS, the governing body is now authorized and has been imposing a tax in an amount not to exceed \$.75 per month per exchange access line or its equivalent in those portions of the governing body's jurisdiction for which emergency telephone service has been contracted to pay the costs thereof.

AND WHEREAS, the Kansas Legislature has mandated that, beginning in January of 2012, the amount of tax to be imposed shall be in the amount of \$0.53 per month per exchange access line or its equivalent.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas, that:

- 1. That the tax imposed for the purpose of providing 911 Service within Cherokee County shall continue to be in the amount of \$.53 per month per exchange access line or its equivalent in accordance with K.S.A. 12-5302, et seq.
- 2. That the Board of County Commissioners of Cherokee County, Kansas shall be authorized to continue to enter into any contracts with providers of emergency telephone service or any other public agencies in accordance with K.S.A. 23-5304, if the same is deemed to be the most appropriate procedure.
- 3. The forgoing tax rate of \$0.53 shall take effect and replace the former tax rate of \$0.75 beginning January 1, 2012

PASSED AND APPROVED, this 3/ day of Mouluber, 2011.

The Board of County Commissioners of Cherøkee County, Kansas

une Jack Garner, Chairman

Pat Collins, Commissioner

Richard Hilderbrand, Commissioner

ATTEST: Crystal L Gatewood, County Clerk